Women’s Cricket World Cup postponed to 2022

Women's Cricket World Cup postponed to 2022
ICC announces the postponed dates for Women's and Men's World Cups.

The Women’s World Cup set to be held in New Zealand has been postponed to 2022 because of the pandemic. The pandemic continues to disturb the calendar as it pushes back major events, and cricket is not an exception. The men’s Twenty20 world cup has also been pushed back to 2021. No women’s international cricket has been played after the T20 World Cup, which was held in March. The pandemic has affected globally with various impacts and making the situation difficult for a number of teams.

On Friday, the ICC announced about pushing back the tournament. New Zealand, Australia, England, India, and South Africa were the only teams that gave confirmation regarding their participation. Three more teams were required to conduct a qualifying tournament, which was set to be conducted in Sri Lanka. They stated that safety and health are the main concerns that were taken into consideration for the delay. They wanted to give all the eight teams sufficient time to participate in the event. The New Zealand organizing committee was working on various strategies to conduct the event at the scheduled time, but various issues popped up.

Women's Cricket World Cup postponed to 2022
Women’s World Cup Trophy for 2020.

Postponing the event is surely disappointing for the cricket fans and their supporters, but considering the situation of COVID-19, it will be difficult for the team members to come together to train. The men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will be hosted by India and will take place as planned with the teams coming together. This leads to a controversy stating that despite two million cases, the event will be conducted, but women have to wait for their turn. Even the IPL has been shifted to UAE in the vacated spot, raising numerous questions. We hope that things get better soon so that everything will get back to normal.

The Women’s World Cup was first held in 1973 and is considered as the oldest world championship with 50 overs. 11 World Cups have been held to date with England and India hosting the event 3 three times each. Australia has won 6 titles and is the most successful team. Below is England with 4 titles and New Zealand with a single title.

Sunandan Sharma
Sunandan Sharma is an Engineer by Profession from Mumbai, India. But, he also likes to write articles based on Sports. He is a sports enthusiast and loves discussing about it. You can reach out to him on [email protected]